1776 Clarifications

Campaign Game Clarifications

  1. Only one supply unit is used per an players combat phase. Ex : Player 'A' attacks Player 'B', comabt lasted 5 rounds. Player B now may continue combat if he wants, if he does, the same supply unit may be used. At the end of combat each will lose a supply (went 2+ rounds supplied)( this differs from AvalonCon ruling )
  2. Per the above, during winter, an attackers combat phase must end after a mere two rounds.
  3. For a class 3 river, the entire hexside must be class three for it to be concidered navigable for Bateau/Ships. Same for class rivers/lakes. If a hexside is 'mixed', the lower class is used. If it is questionable if the entire hexside is, say a class 2 river, -- then it is a class 2 river hexside --. These hexsides are not Bateau qualed, HHH37-III38, ZZ27-AA28, OOO39-PPP39 and for example.
  4. BF/TF's may not move along the hexside of a Sea Lane hex, such as GG33/GG44.
  5. Delaware bay class 2 and 3 hexsides are considered North, hence TF's may not navigate in winter.
  6. Replace the at start British magazine in Boston with a supply. (So if you are thinking about a New England first strategy, and stay in Boston over the winter, you may want to bring the 'A' rienforcements straight to Boston since Washington will have two supply come April).
  7. Half hexes are playable
  8. To count for an AV, all of the attackers (and their supply) must have began their movement in the same hex and move as a stack to the AV hex. Friendlies already in the target AV hex may not be used for the AV. ( this differs from AvalonCon ruling )
  9. Brit Regulars in Canada are not factored when figuring the 'Area Status Chart'.
  10. The first hex of a port debarkation does not cost the lading units 1mp, it is 'free'.
  11. [IV.C.c ] all units that end their turn in a hex with an entrenchment must be considered entrenched.
  12. A unit that lands in a northern port during winter has his mp halfed twice (once for winter, once for sea movement). That would give a British regular 1 mp.
  13. British Rienforcement 'A' can enter at sea lane hex TT 40 or any sea lane hex south of TT40 .
  14. All British Rienforcements 'A' through 'F' must enter together at the same hex.
  15. Halifax must be conrolled to bring on rienforcements in Halifax. These rienforcements may come in other controlled ports if possible.
  16. British Rienforcements that enter in a Port ( such as Boston or Halifax) may use sea movement, being transported by ships that began the turn is said port.
  17. Bateaus/Transports can sail around FFF29.
  18. [ V ] Variable Garrisons : If, say, the UK controlls ( at least 1UKsp per town ) all towns, but has but 2sp in Boston, then the status of that area is C or E (depending on if CA are around ). The American Replacements then would have to come on in or adjacent the Boston hex in this example.
  19. For the above, even if all towns New England stratigic towns had 10sp, if the UK does not controll Montreal, the is C or E, US placed next to one of the towns.
  20. Note also there is actually a more detailed back and forth adjustment/placement sequence in the rules for the interphase. CA/RM/TM adjustment then Am supply then BR supply and Reinforcement. I see no reason to break down the interphase in numerous emails, but one could argue our current practice slightly advantages the Brits as he gets to adjust Tories AFTER seeing where the American places any new supplies, while the written rules compel him to do so BEFORE. Same for the French Variable Fleet rule. Still, the US should do all interphase stuff in one email, the the UK goes. Insignificant in my view but....
  21. Must the 2Br supply be taken in the same controlled port? YES. Same with the 2BR? YES
  22. In winter, in Canada, New England, and the Middle States, Bateaus and TF Fleets may not move along class 1, 2, or 3 river/lake hexsides. They may move directly from a port hexside to a class 3 coastal hexside or seal lane hex. In effect, Quebec, New London, Hew Haven, New York, Wilmington and Philadelphia are inaccessable to TF's in Winter. Note winter has no effect on BF movement.
  23. Basic Rule VI does not apply to Campaign game Repalcement placement. Hence replacements do not have to come in together, do not forfit movement if they come in on an enemy unit, and other stuff such as :
    1. Only one UK controlled town, and it has a CA unit in it also ( I say also since its UK controlled, by default this means the hex UK regulars also). MUST the Tory go there? YES
    2. All but one stategic town is controlled by the UK. The only uncontrolled stratigic town has a Tory in it. Can Yankee replacements come in that stratigic hex? YES
    3. Same sitiuation as #2, except that the strategic town does have UK regulars, but not enough since the variable garrison rules are being used! Can the US reps come in that *uncontrolled* (not enough UK regulars garrisoning to claim controll) stratigic town hex? YES
    4. All but one stategic town is controlled by the UK. The only uncontrolled stratigic town ( whcih may or may not have UK regulars in it, see #3) has a UK regular in each of the adjacent heses. Can the Yankee replacements come in on one of the adjacent hexes? YES
  24. West Indies :
    • Any French BF sent to the WI MUST remain 3 turns ( initial entry excepted, but if he drops off or picks up, he must stay the 3 turns before continiuing ).
    • The UK must match the French BF's and French infantry SP's only while a French BF is in the WI. The UK does not have to match the French SP if the French have no BF in the WI ( note if later the French do put a BF in the WI, then the UK must mathc the BF(S) and all SP in the WI).
    • To match, the UK first determines the the minimum number of turns it would take to completely match the French, then that is the number of MP's he has. The possible blocading presence of French BF's is accounted for at that instant only.
    • BF's that are in the same hex as a TF may use a speed of 30.
    • the UK must move with all due speed to meet this requirement. About the only reason the UK would not make is that a fleet(s) was disabled/sunk enroute. If this happens, the UK must then refresh the count of the number of MP's it will take, and try again with the remaining ships, again with all due speed.
    • A second reason the UK could miss is possible 2nd turn blockading positions of the French ( note a first turn blocading position was allowed for during the initial minmum MP count ). Should this remote chance happen, the UK must of course force the blockade, but the lost MP is not counted against them.
    • ... If the UK gets careless, a shorthanded and crafty French ( shorthanded sice to force a WI UK responce he must tie up a BF(s) ) may spot an opportunity to force a TF, or even BF, into unfavorable combat. Be careful out there.
  25. May units who move then disembark by Bateau AV the unit in the debarkation hex? Yes
  26. A hex has one TM and one RM. Its the American turn. Can the US use some other units to AV the lone TM, then have the RM build an entrenchment? No
    Same as above, but 1TM and 7RM in a hex. Can 6RM AV the TM, the 7th RM make the entrencment. No
  27. For naval combat, a D1 eguals 3 months, and D2 equals 6 months. A unit who suffers a D1 March comes back in June.
  28. What happens when an enemy naval unit enters and remains in a hexside occupied by friendly bateaux? While the bateaux do not have to leave the hexside neither may they transport from or ferry on the hexside as long as an enemy naval unit remains there.
  29. May defender initiate Naval combat? No
  30. A port is 'blocaded' by placing a fleet on the port hexside (the blue dot). The blocading fleet need to make sure the when placed along the hexside, the ship is not placed in the port hex, but the 'other hex'. For a ship to leave a blocaded port, the ship must first move out of the port. This is signified by (usually) placing the ship in the same hex alongside the same blue dot hexside as the blocading fleet. The moving ship must end movement then and there, giving the blocading fleet the oportunity to attack in his upcoming turn.
  31. Units who move by Bateau/TF/BF may not force march. They may AV.
  32. Entrenchemnts may not be built in a hex that had a fort in it at the begining of the turn.
  33. Units may move through ( and remain in ) all mountain hexes.
  34. UK loss of Canada affects all apects of New England and Middle States controll. If Canada is not controlled, then these two areas are considered partially controlled ( at best ) for :
    • Quaterly Replacement phase
    • Winter Reduction
    • All Victory Conditions
    • French Intervention (VIII.A.2)
    • American Spring supply (II.B.2)
  35. Replacements ( and by replacements I mean the CA/RM/TM from interphase adjustments ) and Rienforcements ( the UK regulars) may come IN forts on ports IF the port is not blockaded ( an enemy fleet (TF or BF ) occupies the hexside with the dot ). Presence of friendly fleets on the hexside does not 'lift' blockade, there must be no enemy ships there. If blocaded, and the port is the ONLY place they may come in at, then they must come in ON the fort.

    Also then, friendly units may disembark IN a fort port if the port is not blockaded.

PBeM Campaign Game Conventions

  1. All units are CONSIDERED NOT TO BE IN SHIPS AND IN FORTS UNLESS SPECIFICALLY NOTED OTHERWISE in an email. Units are always considered entrenched. Obviously, if the ship is in an all sea hex, the units are in the ship. As the rules state, for a ship to be concidered in port, the ship is placed in the port hex, and this is the only reason a ship should be in a port hex. When in a port hex, the facing of the ship is moot, it is automaticaly considered to be in port along the hexside that has the blue dot ( note some port hexes and the blue dot are not exactly lined up).
  2. Where the programs mapboard differs from the physical mapboard, the program's mapboard is used. Two Exceptions : Use the actual board to determine the Canadian border, class 3 river hexsides, and coastal hexsides. For border hexes, the hex belongs to the country who has the most real estate.
  3. If the program misshandles a combat, as evidenced by the 'Battle_at_aaa000.txt' file, that and all combats for that turn are rendered null and void, and will have to wait as I fix the combat bug pronto and put out a 'patch'. Except : Note no attacks may begin at less than 1:3. However, the program does not enforce this. It is still illegal to initiate a combat at less than 1:3, but because of the program, combat may continue past 1:3.
  4. On the program map, hexside EE21-EE22 does not have have a river.
  5. Note the attacker has much less controll over when a battle will end. Both players must decide on wether to use supply past the first round before the first die roll, and other differences.

Above the Fields