Bull Run Clarifications
From The General, Vol. 20, No.5:
Thanks to Steve Likevich for typing this up
- 4.84 If Confederate units are unfrozen due to Union approach to a frozen leader (as per 4.82), must *all* Confederate units be revealed before other Union movement is completed?
A. No, *only* pieces approached within four hexes by enemy units need be revealed until the Union player has completed movement.
- 5.6 Must a unit start its turn on a road hex to utilize the road rate?
- 5.63 Are unlimbered artillery prohibited from utilizing the road rate also?
- 9.7 If both the attacking artillery and its target are in woods, is the attack strength quartered?
A. No, only halved.
- 11.6 If the infantry unit removing the abatis is bombarded, does this prevent removal if the effect of this bombardment is not adverse?
A. No, the bombardment must displace or remove the infantry unit to halt removal.
- 12.5 Must a leader have a route of retreat (i.e., free of enemy units and their ZOCs) to utilize the "LB2" entry if it is rolled?
- 12.5 Should the enemy unit which causes the loss of all units stacked with a leader be eliminated (as in an exchange), must the leader still check for elimination?
- 14.31 May brigade leaders that are currently *part* of a formed brigade rally units?
- Order of Battle Cards:
There appear to be a couple of errors on these cards; the reference to Farm Ford under Abatis should read *Y8* instead of "Y18" and Union reinforcements arrive at *4:00 PM*, not "4:00 AM".
Retreats. The retreat rules are simple, but can cause a bit of confusion to first time gamers. A unit must retreat two hexes. However, not all retreat destinations are equal. Basicaly, priority is determined by being the furthest from all adjacent attacking/defending units OF THAT PARTICULAR COMBAT for ground combat (supporting artillery ARE IGNORED for determining retreats in ground combat unless adjacent ), ..., or the furthest hex from all bombarding units in the case of a bombardment retreat. The unit must also end the retreat two hexes from where he started.
- KK5 is a river hex, KK4 is not
- I4 is a river hex, I5 is not.
- Note that "command range" and "recon range" ARE different.
- All artillery in a hex MUST be paired with an infantry unit if possible. Each regiment of a brigade may be supported by an artillery. Say a hex contains the Richardson Brigade and two artillery units; then for defence, since Richardson's brigade has three regiments, both artillery units are combined with the brigade for one big ol' defence total.
I have diagramed all of the possible infantry combat retreat routs. A unit MUST retreat to a 'Priority (1)' hex if at all possible. If impossible to retreat to a 'Priority (1)' hex, the retreating unit must choose a 'Priority (2)' hex.
For bombardment retreats, it is impossible to list all possible routes. Below, the unit MUST retreat to the highest number possible. The 'number' represents the total hex distance from all enemy artillery that fired.
An LOS Clarification