Vol 21 #4 of 'The General' contained some Q&A. Someday I'll take the time and type it up (though don't let me stop you...). To sum-up some key clarifications :
Some Mapboard clarifications :
- An unocupied city in contested ZOC is controlled by no one.
- Units never retreat from woods
- Russian workers are placed before movement of the 1st impulse.
- Rails are determined after all combat of the second impulse.
- You do not LOSE rail hexes during your turn, you only GAIN them.
- In general. rail is advanced to the farthest OCCUPIED hex that is free of enemy ZOC and can trace rail, free of enemy ZOC, to a friendly city. There are a few exceptions:
- Uncontested ZOC into a City gives you controll of that city, you may place a rail there, in fact, rail may be traced to it.
- Rial may be traced, free of enemy ZOC, between two friendly cities. This can cause some wild rail chages.
- The German player controls both Moscow and Leningrad while Archangel is controlled by the Russian player. No unit or unit ZOC covers any hex of the rail line in question, except hex R8 is in the ZOC of a German unit in Moscow. At the end of his turn, the German claims the rail line by putting a rail marker in hex K2.(?) YES
- Q: Same set up as above. At the end of the Russian turn, the Russian player places a Partisan in K2 and then removes the K2 marker placing rail markers in K3 and L3. At the end of the next German turn, the German player starts to place a marker in hex K2 but is stop by the Russian player who notes that the Partisan has a ZOC in the hex it is in and is on the rail line; consequently the German cannot claim that rail junction. During the Russian player's turn, he then uses off-board rail to move Stalin to safety in Archangel. Anything wrong with this?
A: Yes. 19.4 clearly specifies that partisans are adjusted at the end of the 2nd impulse. Rails are adjusted after 2nd impulse combat. Therefore, a partisan can NEVER be initially placed on friendly rail due to the sequence of events. 19.2 also says that partisan ZOC cannot control a city; I extend that to cover cities. 19.2 says that partisans 'don't count as units' - thus, referencing 9.7 (rail control), it can not impact rail conversion since that is only impacted by control/occupation/or movement through of rails/cities by UNITS which a partisan is not.
Same answer, one more time : the scenario (as opposed to senario) is flawed in that rail
heads are always adjusted before partisans are placed. Therefore, the
partisan cannot be placed on K2, because that hex is no longer an Axis
controlled rail hex at the moment of partisan placement. The hex is thus
reconverted on the German move and Stalin cannot rail through.
- Can Russian reinforcements and replacements enter the game on east edge hexes that are in German ZOC? YES.
- Can STAVKA be replaced?. NO
- movement is allowed between B8 and C7
- hex B10 is not doubled if attacked from A10
- hex KK19 can only be attacked from LL19
- KK19 is doubled on defence
- O8 is not doubled when attacked from P8
- The east mapedge runs B1 to PP1 inclusive. A5, PP2, QQ6, QQ12, ect are not eastern exits. Hence, supply may not be traced off these hexes, nor rienforcements/replacements brought in along these rails.
- C1 does not have a rail leading off the east edge. The rail line ends at Archangel.
- hex U1, Gorki, does have a rail leading off into the eastern hinterlands.
Other fun stuff...
- Don't forget the examples in the Appendix, page 8. Note '1' is not doubled when attacked by 'D'.
- All sea movement is done during movement. Controll of cities change 'instantly'. Hence, one unit may move to and take controll of a Black Sea port, then a second unit may invade and count the newly aquired post city for sea movement drm purposes. Also, the new arrival (such as a rienforcement) can go directly to the newly aquired city as 'sea movement').
- Note there are no major cities in any 'Military District'. Hence Axis units ( Finns excepted) cannot attack any major city on May '41.
- Try to remeber the Finnish border area during setup (as I am wont to forget...).
- In TRC, a unit may not move directly from one enemy ZOC to another.
My favorite way to play TRC
- Campaign using optional rule 26.5, 'Historical Weather'.